Garden Gnome Ecosystems

Creating a sustainable system for gnomes to play in.

Potato Pancakes

Leave a comment

Every time we go out for breakfast I order potato latkes.  And then I kick myself for spending money on shredded potatoes served with applesauce and sour cream.

We don’t do breakfast out often, mostly because who actually wants to get up and put pants on on a weekend?  Not me.  Coffee gets my other up and running, but not me.

I didn’t make potato pancakes on a weekend.  I made them on a Wednesday, to cope with the sick that I just can’t kick.  It’s been a month.  I’m done.

Anybody else spend countless hours on Pinterest, pinning recipes they’ll never make, especially when feeling a touch under the weather?  My unwritten New Year’s Resolution is to try all the recipes I’ve pinned.  There were some green onions lurking in the crisper, and I’d stumbled on these just a couple days before.

Nom.

Pile o' Potato Pancakes

I didn’t have any applesauce, or sour cream, or even Greek yogurt.  They were still yummy.  They were simple to make.  Perfect greasy, healthy comfort food.  Except all the shredding, but I’m probably the only person in Canada who loves shredded food – shredded cheese, shredded carrots, shredded potatoes – and doesn’t own a food processor.  Where would I put it?  And when the power goes out, I’d be heart-broken.  It’s the box grater for me.

 

Ingredients:

3 potatoes
3 slightly beaten eggs
1/2 cup flour
1 cup shredded carrot
1/3 cup green onion, tops and white, thinly sliced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon pepper
chunk-style applesauce

oil for frying (I tried olive oil and coconut oil – the coconut oil won in my opinion)

Directions:

1. Peel and shred potatoes.  Submerge in cold water as you go, to keep them from browning.

2. Mix it all up, except the applesauce.

3. In a frying pan, heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium heat.

4. Drop heaping teaspoonfuls into pan, flatten into 2 1/2 inch circles, and fry until golden brown (2-3 minutes).  Flip.  Fry until golden brown on that side too.

5. Serve warm with applesauce (and sour cream or Greek yogurt)

adapted from: http://www.food.com/recipe/calico-potato-latkes-with-applesauce-175414?oc=linkback

 

Nom.

Calico Potato Pancakes
Author: Ruth

I'm a cat feeder and box-cleaner. I'm a cook, a wife, a student, an (occasional) crafter, and a small-town child turned city lover. Most of all, I'm an urban vegetable gardener in a province with bitter cold winters, hot dry summers, and backwards food policy.

Thoughts?

